FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL DISCUSSION OF AGENDA ITEMS MEETING MINUTES ST. AVOLD CONFERENCE ROOM, CITY HALL OCTOBER 23, 2023 6:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Mitch Colvin (arrived 6.08 p.m.)

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1); Shakeyla Ingram (District 2); Mario Benavente (District 3) (via zoom); D. J. Haire (District 4) (via zoom); Johnny Dawkins (District 5); Brenda McNair (District 7); Courtney Banks-McLaughlin (District 8) (via zoom); Deno Hondros (District 9)

Others Present: Douglas Hewett, City Manager Lachelle Pulliam, Interim City Attorney Kelly Olivera, Assistant City Manager Jodi Phelps, Chief of Staff Sheila Thomas-Ambat, Public Services Director Kemberle Braden, Police Chief Loren Bymer, Marketing and Communication Director Chris Cauley, Economic and Community Development Director Lisa Harper, Senior Assistant City Attorney Dave Steinmetz, Development Services Assistant Director Will Deaton, Planning and Zoning Manager Pamela Megill, City Clerk

Mayor Pro Tem Dawkins called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m.

Mayor Pro Tem Dawkins asked the Council to review the consent and other items of business items for this evening.

Council Member Benavente stated he intends to pull the October 9, regular meeting minutes from the agenda, and stated he and others objected to Mayor Colvin's declaration to hold a Special Public Forum for October 23, 2023, for those speakers that due to time constraints did not have an opportunity to speak at the meeting.

Discussion ensued pertaining to whether the Mayor has the authority to call for a Special Public Forum.

Consensus of Council was to route the Public Forum policy to the Council Policy Review Committee.

Council Member Ingram stated she intends to make a motion to move Item 11.01 - Administrative Report - Airport Strategic Marketing Plan and Item 11.02 - Administrative Report - Every Town for Gun Safety, to the November Work Session agenda for presentation.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:46 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

PAMELA J. MEGILL City Clerk 102323 MITCH COLVIN Mayor