DRAFT

FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES COUNCIL CHAMBER, CITY HALL JUNE 12, 2024 3:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Mitch Colvin

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1); Malik Davis (District 2); Mario Benavente (District 3); D. J. Haire (District 4); Lynne Greene (District 5) (departed at 4:29 p.m.); Derrick Thompson (District 6); Brenda McNair (District 7); Courtney Banks-McLaughlin (District 8) (arrived at 3:12 p.m.); Deno Hondros (District 9)

Others Present: Douglas Hewett, City Manager

Lachelle Pulliam, City Attorney Adam Lindsay, Assistant City Manger Jeffrey Yates, Assistant City Manager Jodi Phelps, Assistant City Manager

Kimberle Braden, Police Chief

Kevin Dove, Fire Chief

Loren Bymer, Marketing & Communications Director Jerry Clipp, Human Resource Development Director Gerald Newton, Development Services Director Chris Cauley, Economic and Community Development

Director

Tyffany Neal, Transit Director

Willie Johnson, Chief Information Officer

Kimberly Leonard, Budget and Evaluation Director Michael Gibson, Parks, Recreation and Maintenance Director

Lisa Reid, EMS Manager

Byron Reeves, Assistant Public Services Director

Pamela Megill, City Clerk Members of the Press

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Council Member Haire called the meeting to order at 3:04 p.m.

2.0 INVOCATION

The invocation was offered by Council Member Thompson.

3.0 APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

MOTION: Council Member Haire moved to approve the agenda.

SECOND: Council Member Greene

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

4.0 ITEMS OF BUSINESS

Revised Parking Lot

Mr. Douglas Hewett, City Manager, presented this item and provided an update on each of the 13 items for consideration.

Discussion ensued.

MOTION: Council Member Benavente moved to direct staff to pilot an

alternate response program, as the four pillars addressed.

SECOND: Council Member Hondros

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

Discussion ensued on the Revaluation initiated by Mayor Colvin and discussion on the Fee Schedule initiated by Mr. Douglas Hewett, City Manager.

DRAFT

MOTION: Council Member Thompson moved to park the "parking lot"

changes, and reduce downtown outdoor events permit listed in

the fee schedule to \$60.00.

SECOND: Council Member Benavente

VOTE: PASSED by a vote of 8 in favor to 2 in opposition (Council

Members Greene and Hondros)

School Resource Officers

Mr. Douglas Hewett, City Manager, stated the Cumberland County Sheriff's Department has given written notice they are relinquishing their responsibility to provide school resource officers. The City has not been approached with a request for services by the Cumberland County School District. It is up to the Board of Education to decide who they wish to contract with to provide this service. If a request for services comes in after we have adopted the budget, we can accommodate that change at a later date.

Discussion ensued.

Project Closures

Mr. Douglas Hewett, City Manager, provided a brief overview of the Capital Projects for closure: Transportation Capital Fund, Recreational and Cultural Fund, and General Government Fund.

Mr. Hewett announced he has named Mr. Jeffrey Yates, Assistant City Manager, as the Interim Chief Financial Officer for the City.

Funding Strategy

Mr. Douglas Hewett, City Manager, provided a brief overview of the Funding Strategy.

CIP Additions

Council Member Banks-McLaughlin stated she has a problem with us identifying a specific area of the City for water and sewer improvements and also is not comfortable with specifically naming Johnson Street.

Discussion ensued.

MOTION: Council Member Banks-McLaughlin moved to approve the

\$250,000.00 infrastructure development for the Bonnie Doone

area # 5 on the parking lot list.

SECOND: Council Member Haire

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

Open Items and Questions

Mr. Douglas Hewett, City Manager, stated the agenda item to adopt the budget will be on the June 24, 2024, City Council meeting agenda.

5.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:36 p.m. Respectfully submitted,

PAMELA J. MEGILL MITCH COLVIN

PAMELA J. MEGILL City Clerk 061224

Mayor