City of Fayetteville Mid-Carolina Council of Governments -Membership Option-

Current Dues Structure

At this time, MCCOG annual dues for member jurisdictions are 27-cents per capita for member counties and 24-cents per capita for member municipalities. Current dues totals are based on 2010 Census population data. Fiscal Year 2019/2020 annual dues:

Member Government	2010 Census Population	Annual Dues
Cumberland County	319,431	\$86,246
Eastover	3,628	871
Falcon	258	62
Godwin	139	33
Hope Mills	15,176	3,642
Linden	130	31
Spring Lake	11,964	2,871
Stedman	1,028	247
Wade	<u>556</u>	<u>133</u>
Cumberland County Total	352,310	\$94,137
Harnett County	114,679	\$30,963
Coats	2,112	507
Dunn	9,263	2,223
Erwin	4,405	1,057
Lillington	<u>3,194</u>	<u>767</u>
Harnett County Total	138,003	\$35,517
Sampson County	63,431	\$17,126
Autryville	196	47
Clinton	8,639	2,073
Garland	625	150
Harrells	202	48
Newton Grove	569	137
Roseboro	1,191	286
Salemburg	435	104
Turkey	<u>292</u>	<u>70</u>
Sampson County Total	75,580	\$20,042
Region Total	565,893	\$149,697

Current MCCOG Board of Directors

MCCOG is governed by a six-member Board of Directors. Three directors are appointed by their respective County Board of Commissioners and represent each member county, Cumberland, Harnett, and Sampson. The other three directors are appointed through a caucus of member municipalities in each county and represent the region's municipal interests. Current MCCOG Board of Directors:

Dr. Jeannette Council, Board Chair (Cumberland County Commissioner) Sue Lee (Sampson County Commissioner) C. Gordon Springle (Harnett County Commissioner) Patsy Carson (Erwin Mayor) Martin Jones (Stedman Mayor) Arnold Page (Salemburg Commissioner)

City of Fayetteville Annual Dues Analysis

Under MCCOG's current dues structure, the City's annual dues would total \$48,135. Calculation method:

	2010 Census Population	Per-Capita Amount	Total Annual Dues
Fayetteville	200,564	24-cents	\$48,135

City of Fayetteville Phased-In Membership Option

The City could opt to phase into full MCCOG membership over three years. Under this option, the City would be a full member effective July 1, 2022, with representation on the MCCOG Board of Directors. Three-year phase-in option:

Year	Annual Dues	Representation
Year 1 (FY 20/21)	\$16,045	Non-Voting Member on Board of
	(1/3 under current structure)	Directors
Year 2 (FY 21/22)	\$32,090	Non-Voting Member on Board of
	(2/3 under current structure)	Directors
Year 3 (FY 22/23)	\$48,135	Voting Member on Board of Directors
	(full under current structure)	voting Member on Board of Directors

Assumptions, Considerations

Amounts reflected are based on 2010 Census populations and MCCOG's current dues structure. Traditionally, the Council's dues structure is analyzed and re-visited every 10 years once new census population data is certified. It should also be noted that the Board of Directors will be evaluating the methodology and desired goals of the Council's dues structure during the upcoming fiscal year. It is possible a new dues structure could be adopted beginning Fiscal Year 2021/2022.